Your Councillors

Borough Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the Council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

Guildford Borough has 48 councillors: 33 Conservative, 13 Liberal Democrats, and 2 Labour. As the majority of these are Conservative councillors, this means we are a Conservative-controlled council.

***UPDATE: As Councillor Steve Freeman (Liberal Democrat, Onslow) resigned on 19 January 2015, there is a vacancy on the Council. This vacancy will be filled at the next Borough elections.***

The 2014-15 Mayor of Guildford is Councillor David Elms. His deputy is Councillor Nikki Nelson-Smith.

The Leader of the Council is Councillor Stephen Mansbridge, and Councillor Nigel Manning is the Deputy Leader.

The next borough elections are on Thursday 7 May 2015.

To find your councillor please use the links below: