Committee structure

Council and Committees

Corporate Governance and Standards Committee

The Corporate Governance and Standards Committee Committee is responsible for:

·         considering and commenting on the Council's audit and accounts activity

·         monitoring and reviewing the Council's corporate governance activity.

The membership of the committee includes seven borough councillors, three independent (non-voting) co-opted members of the public, and three co-opted parish representatives.


Mrs Maria Angel is the co-opted independent member and Mr Charles Hope (West Horsley Parish Council), Mr Ian Symes (Effingham Parish Council) and Ms Gerry Reffo (Shere Parish Council) are the co-opted parish representatives on this committee. Officers will shortly advertise for two more independent members. The term of each co-optee will expire in May 2019.



The Leader is responsible for appointing the lead councillors, and determining their areas of responsibility who, together, form the Executive:


Regulatory Committees

Overview and Scrutiny Committees

Guildford Joint Committee